Summary of EMR/EHR Meaningful Use criteria

In order to meet Meaningful Use criteria, professionals and hospitals must adopt a certified EMR/EHR technology and achieve specific objectives. These objectives and measures evolve in 3 stages over 5 years.




Data capture and sharing

  • Electronically capturing health information in a standarized format
  • Using that information to track key clinical conditions
  • Communicating that information for care coordination processes
  • Initiating the reporting of clinical quality measures and public health information
  • Using information to engage patients and their families in their care




Advance clinical processes

  • More rigorous health information exchange (HIE)
  • Increased requirements for e-prescribing and incorporating lab results
  • Electronic transmission of patient care summaries across multiple settings
  • More patient-controlled data




Improved outcomes

  • Improving quality, safety, and efficiency, leading to improved health outcomes
  • Decision support for national high-priority conditions
  • Patient access to self-management tools
  • Access to comprehensive patient data through patient-centered HIE
  • Improving population health

Achieve Meaningful Use

In order to attest Meaningful Use, professionals and hospitals are required to meet all core objectives and a certain number of menu objectives for Stage 1 and Stage 2. Please note that the links below will direct you to external websites.


Learn more Achieving Meaningful Use Stage 1 Achieving Meaningful Use Stage 2